List of Holidays 2012

List of Holidays 2012 : List of Public Holidays for the year 2012 in Tamil Nadu

Government of Tamil Nadu has declared today the Holidays and Public Holidays under Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881 for the State of Government Offices and all Commercial Banks including Co-operative banks in Tamil Nadu for the year 2012. In accordance with the instructions/order, all the offices under the control of the Government of Tamil Nadu, State Government Undertakings / Corporations / Boards will remain closed on the dates specified in the notification and all Saturdays and Sundays. The Appendix/Notification has been enclosed with the Government order.

The Holiday list remains 25 days including Saturdays and Sundays for the year 2012. For your convenience, we have reproduced the list of Public Holidays in the Notification/Annexure and given below…

S.No. FESTIVAL DATE DAY
1 New Year’s Day 01.01.2012 Sunday
2 Pongal 15.01.2012 Sunday
3 Thiruvalluvar Day 16.01.2012 Monday
4 Uzhavar Thirunal 17.01.2012 Tuesday
5 Republic Day 26.01.2012 Thursday
6 Meelad-un-Nabi 05.02.2012 Sunday
7 Telugu New Year’s Day 23.03.2012 Friday
8 Annual closing of Accounts for Commercial & Co-operative Banks* 02.04.2012 Monday
9 Mahaveer Jayanthi 05.04.2012 Thursday
10 Good Friday 06.04.2012  Friday
11 Tamil New Year’s Day 13.04.2012 Friday
12 Dr.B.R.Ambedkar Birthday 14.04.2012 Saturday
13 May Day 01.05.2012 Tuesday
14 Independence Day 15.08.2012 Wednesday
15 Ramzan 20.08.2012 Monday
16 Krishna Jayanthi 08.09.2012 Saturday
17 Vinayakar Chathurthi 19.09.2012 Wednesday
18 Half yearly closing of Accounts for Commercial banks & Co-operative Banks* 29.09.2012 Saturday
19 Gandhi Jayanthi 02.10.2012 Tuesday
20 Ayutha Pooja 23.10.2012 Tuesday
21 Vijaya Dasami 24.10.2012 Wednesday
22 Bakrid 27.10.2012 Saturday
23 Deepavali 13.11.2012 Tuesday
24 Muharram 25.11.2012 Sunday
25 Christmas 25.12.2012 Tuesday

* Applicable only to Commercial Banks and Co-operative banks in TN.